MIUI review!


image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

First, I would like to say that I had tried various roms and never seemed to find the one that suited me. I finally came across miui ported for the incredible and decided I had nothing to lose. I installed it the same as any rom and it went without s hitch. As it booted for the first time, the first thing I noticed was the apple-like boot progress bar. Also the simple but yet tasteful boot screen was nice. The droid at the bottom of the right side of the screen just cocked at a bit of an angle with a slight animation. The droid gazing back at me with an occasional blink of his eyes, which I ascribed the nick name “blinky”. After I was booted in, the first thing I noticed was a crystal clear hd-like wallpaper. The icons were nice and modern with slightly rounded corners. The top bar is black with “clean” white icons. As I pulled down the notification bar from the top bar the option to turn on/off things like wifi, bluetooth, gps, data, etc is right there. The launcher is similar to launcher 2 and by default has phone-contacts-browser-messages set in it. Although changing what apps are in the launcher are as easy as drag & drop, I left the launcher like it was since it already was set with the apps that I use most. Moving on to the phone menu I discovered that it was a list style rather than the traditional icon style which seems to become cluttered and bothersome most of the time. It definitely has an apple-like flavor to it but not to the point of losing it’s originality. Afa the speed and ease of use with this rom, it’s as smooth as silk and configured to give you the most out of your mobile needs. It comes with pre-installed apps which the majority I use. One app I’ve become particularly find of is called miui backup. With this app you can back up the rom or the installed apps. You can back up both but not simutaniously. There is also a pre-installed app called miui forum in case you come across a problem that needs to be troubleshot. If your looking for snappiness then this rom is for you. The battery life wasn’t that great so I decided to flash another kernel. After testing a few different ones I decided on the invisiblek #12. After flashing this kernel I noticed a big improvement in battery life. The kernel also increased the already snappiness of the phone. The kernel has the smart @$$ setting which throttle the cpu and is undervolted and overclocked which eliminates the need for set cpu (my apologies to it’s author). Finally, I wanted to try to change the theme and what do ya know, changing themes was as simple as downloading your theme and setting it with a couple of taps in the system menu. The only downfalls I could pick out are that it has no ability to edit the cdma and sometimes it gets a bad signal. Overall, after testing this rom for about a month I have come to the conclusion that this rom is worth your investment of trying it out. After saying all that, I would like to say that a Light Speed  miui rom could very well be in the works to cater to the miui users. One thing that may make this difficult is that it is a ported ui and the source code isn’t available as of yet. Still we will try to endeavor and bring a Light Speed miui rom to the community. Any suggestions or insight on this unique ui will be reviewed.

This entry was posted in Android and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

